We Want to make it Big

The Summer Adventure

with 2 comments


The Summer Adventure

This past summer (I know it’s kind of late to talk about the past summer) I had a complete changeover. When I was a kid I was good at drawing but for the past 6 years I had become oblivious to Art. My maternal side is really big on painting and that’s the reason my house looks like a gallery. I always knew I had a knack for creative stuff but never thought that I would actually sit down and paint. Well having four months at home before I was coming to Babson, I wanted to explore a different side of me that I never gave vent to. So I sat down and painted and painted and painted and did nothing else. It took me a month to finish my first piece on canvas. I was making small lines with brushes rather than painting the entire thing and everyone thought I was crazy to be doing something like that. I did put in long hours of work in the heat (summer temperature India- 40 degrees Celsius) because I could not even switch on the fan as acrylic paint dries up very quickly; but finally when it was done, I was ecstatic! TOTAL ECSTACY! The theme was ‘The Heavenly War’ in which I painted the sun beating the moon to death with its crazy pincers. I wasinspired by the phenomenon that we see everyday where in the afternoons we can only see the sun even though the moon is there. So, it’s basically the sun that calls the shots. I was really happy with the aesthetics of my first piece but I did not feel the power in the theme.

Unsatisfied by the meaningfulness of my foremost work, I decided my next work would be something that really reflects who I am. Thus, I started working on my next piece ‘God’s Eye’. I even changed the medium from Acrylic to Oil, which was a totally different experience (Thankfully, I did not have to sweat it out without the fan as Oil doesn’t dry up for days). I cannot put my feelings in words but it’s something I get inspired by whenever I look at it.

Whenever people told me that they had seen the world, I always thought to myself how much had they really seen their native places. Thus, I decided that I would see as much of my India as I could before I went abroad. So, I travelled for around 3 months on and off during my summer vacations both villages and cities alike. From the forests of Assam to the deserts of Rajasthan; from the Holy Ghats of Varanasi to the prosperous villages of Punjab, I experienced things that I can never forget. The nomadic spirit in me is very strong and I can’t wait to go on my next wanderings and see more of this beautiful world.

With all this wanderings and paintings, there was something much more significant I was realizing. It was the untapped potential of the underdeveloped class of India. I could not help but imagine the future of the world if

the energy of this underserved populace could be streamlined for the greater good of mankind; and believe me, it was beautiful!!!

More to come!!!

I have spread my dreams beneath your feet. Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
W.B. Yeats

Written by karankanodia

December 15, 2009 at 8:38 am

Posted in Startup Lessons

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love “The Heavenly War” – very beautifully painted! And the thoughts and meaning behind “God’s eye”.

    It’s cool that you took the time to explore this other side of you, even though it hadn’t been a huge part of your life before; and I think it’s great that you took the time to travel – James and I are planning an epic trip all around India once we graduate – visiting friends and doing much of what you described. Maybe I’ll see you then! ;D

    Boris

    January 3, 2011 at 1:55 am

  2. Well definitely. Its great to know that side exists. Maybe I ll take it up again when I m 60 but till then there is a lot of other stuff that I want to do. Anyway, let me know about your plans 🙂

    karankanodia

    January 3, 2011 at 2:04 am


Leave a Reply

